Toyota Prius’s confusing Trim levels I, II, III, IV and V

by Diminished Value Car Appraiser on July 3, 2012

Toyota has decided to confuse consumers by implementing a new trim level (build) nomenclature.

Instead of the normal (CE, LE, XLE etc… ) or the (Base, Premium, Limited etc..) naming format, they’ve opted for a new and ambiguous format:

  • Prius IItoyota prius value
  • Prius III
  • Prius IV
  • Prius V

There is no Prius I, that’s would make too much sense!

After reviewing Toyota’s product info bulletin, we learn that those builds mean the following:

  •  Prius I (N/A?
  • Prius II – EV mode, driver-side Smart Key System, Touch Tracer Display, Cruise Control, Rear Wiper, Tonneau Cover, passenger side seatback pocket, AM/FM/MP3 CD player with satellite radio antenna, auxiliary audio jack and six speakers
  • Prius III – Model II equipment plus JBL AM/FM/MP3 6-disc CD changer with eight speakers, integrated XM satellite radio capability, hands-free phone capability via Bluetooth® wireless technology
  • Prius IV – Model III equipment plus three-door Smart Key System; leather-trimmed interior; heated front seats with driver lumbar support; step lamp;; driver and front passenger water repellant windows; upgraded front and center pillar trim; plasma cluster; auto dimming mirror and HomeLink®
  • Prius V – Model IV equipment plus 17-inch alloy wheels; LED headlamps with auto leveling and washers and foglamps.

Hopefully the next generation would have simpler designations.


  • Prius Pure
  • Prius Plus
  • Prius Premium
  • Prius EV
  • Prius LE
  • Prius SE
  • Prius 1
  • Prius 2
  • Prius 3
  • Prius EV
  • Prius EVL
  • Prius Advanced

Toyota Prius Product Info

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: