IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR
VEHICLE’S 2013 EMISSION INSPECTION
- TEST EARLY: Georgia’s Clean Air Force (GCAF) recommends having your vehicle inspected four to six weeks prior to the registration renewal date every year (the vehicle owner’s birthday).
- ONGOING MAINTENANCE: Follow the recommended maintenance and tune-up schedule for your vehicle to allow for any needed repairs.
- NEW VEHICLE EXEMPTIONS: The three most recent model years are exempt each year. In 2013, all 2011 and newer model year vehicles are exempt from emission testing.
WHICH VEHICLES NEED TO BE TESTED?
- In 2013, all 1989 – 2010 model year gasoline-powered cars and light-duty trucks (8,500 pounds gross vehicle weight rating or less) registered in Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding or Rockdale County.
- 1989 – 2010 model year vehicles that are newly acquired or recently moved into the I 3-county area must have proof of passing inspection within the last 12 months and must be registered within 30 days (seven days if purchased from a nonregistered dealer).
- Senior Exemption: The vehicle owner must be 65 years old or older, the vehicle must be 10 model years old or older (2003 model year or older), and the vehicle must be driven less than 5,000 miles per year. Seniors who have received an exemption in the past may be able to renew by phone at 800.449.2471.
- Out-of-Area Extension: Available for vehicle owners who meet all requirements (the requirements can be found at CleanAirForce.com); vehicle must be tested upon return to the area. Vehicles can be tested well in advance if the driver will be out of the area at the time of registration.
- Repair Waiver: Available if emission-related repairs happen to meet or exceed the Repair Waiver limit amount; other qualifications based on vehicle model year apply.
HOW MUCH WILL THE INSPECTION COST?
The cost is between $10 and $25. Stations must post the testing fee on their official GCAF sign.
WHAT IF I PURCHASED A USED VEHICLE?
According to Georgia law, the seller must ensure the vehicle has a valid passing emission test at the time of sale if the vehicle will be registered in one of
the 13 counties. A paper copy of the Georgia Vehicle Emission Inspection Report (VIR) does not have to be provided. Visit CleanAirForce.com for VIR reprints and additional information.
TESTING TIPS FOR 1996 — 2010 MODEL YEAR VEHICLES
- If your vehicle’s battery was recently replaced or disconnected, or the computer reset, drive the vehicle for one to two weeks under normal conditions, including some highway driving, prior to having an on-board diagnostic (OBD) inspection or retest.
- If your vehicle’s “Check Engine” light is on, the cause may be as minor as a loose fuel cap or as major as an emission control system problem. Seek repairs prior to having an emission test. If you present your vehicle for inspection with the “Check Engine” light on, the inspector must test it, but it likely will not pass.
- Visit CleanAirForce.com for helpful repair tips.
WHERE DO I GET MY VEHICLE TESTED?
- 1995 and older vehicles — at any inspection station
with a sign that reads “All Vehicles Welcome.”
- 1996 and newer vehicles — at any inspection station.
WHAT IF MY VEHICLE FAILS?
Have your vehicle repaired to meet the required emission standards. Your emission inspector will give you the failing Georgia Vehicle Emission Inspection Report (VIR), a blank Emission Repair Form, and a GCAF Q&A brochure, which details retest procedures.
RepairWatch is a public report that lists repair facilities with a proven track record for emission-related repairs and can be viewed at all inspection stations or at CleanAirForce.com.
You can obtain one free retest at the original station within
30 calendar days of the initial inspection. The 30 days includes the day of your first test and expires at the time of day of the original test.
Federal law requires the catalytic converter and on-board computer for 1995 and newer vehicles to be warranted by the manufacturer for eight years or 80,000 miles.